A Thought on Vitiligo

Vitiligo is a long-term condition where pale white patches develop on the skin. It’s caused by the lack of melanin, a pigment in the skin.’

I myself ‘suffer’ from the condition, ‘fortunately’ in rather hidden places on my chest and legs. Long waits at the dermatologist’s office and trips to the Chinese herbal medicine clinic still burn brightly in my mind. It isn’t painful, contagious or fatal, the most harm it can do is cause sunburn, but it can be seen as unsightly. Covering myself in thick ointments and necking back pungent herbal teas never cured me of it, ‘it’s caused by stress’ they said, but how much stress can an otherwise happy, healthy child be capable of? From the age of five to my early teens a remedy was often sought but never found, now as an adult I’m so used to my patches of pale that I often forget they’re there. In some ways I find vitiligo rather beautiful, the peculiar tie-dye affect of melanin and not is captivating. The model Winnie Harlow proudly displays her vitiligo, the symmetrical patterns on her face resembling a Rorschach test. I cannot imagine life without my vitiligo. I’ve lived more of my life with than without it and it is so deeply ingrained in my sense of self that in its absence I would feel lost.

3 thoughts on “A Thought on Vitiligo

  1. emileelane17 says:

    I love this. I have had vitiligo for as long as I can remember. It is mainly hidden on my body. I have it on my knees, armpits, thighs, one elbow, and my foot. There have been moments where people would look at me weird for it, but I have came to accept it. I used to hate my vitiligo, but now I wouldn’t want it to be any different.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Anguish – SKIN

Leave a Reply

